Take the 2-minute tour ×
Webmasters Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for pro webmasters. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have just created account at (some web service, well, actually it was Transifex, a localization service). Registration form requested typical things: accont name, e-mail adress, password (twice), and, optional company name and phone number.

What confused me was this sentence on confirmation page (the one right after submitting the form):

We will store your signup information for 7 days on our server.

Can anybody explain what does this mean?

What exactly they are referring to by "signup information", if it's something that should be kept for only 7 days? Or is my account going to be destroyed after that time? (Well, that could make sense for some special services, but not for this one.)

share|improve this question
    
Perhaps it means your IP address and user-agent. –  ionFish Jun 27 '12 at 23:18
    
I see they have live support, have you tried contacting the service directly? –  Vince Pettit Jun 28 '12 at 8:40
    
Do they require any kind of account activation or validation? Maybe they're saying if your account isn't activated / validated within 7 days, they won't continue to store your information and you'll have to re-register and validate. –  Anonymous Jun 28 '12 at 9:01
add comment

2 Answers

That simply means after signing up with that website you'll be getting a verification e-mail, so if you did not activated your account in 7 days they will remove your information and account will be disabled, I had a live chat with one of their employee, you can try doing same.

Just for your info :

→Why would your web site keep my signup information for a limited time only?

→"We will store your signup information for 7 days on our server." what does this means?

Ratnadeep: An activation link has been mailed to you

Ratnadeep: please click that link to activate your account →that means if i didnt activated that link you'll remove my info?

Ratnadeep: it will not be removed

Ratnadeep: it will be disabled

→ok thnks :)

share|improve this answer
add comment

They are probably caching your information so the information you used to sign-up will be reserved until you activate the account, prior to that date they will block anyone who attempts to sign-up with the exact information. An example is email address, websites will block people from having multiple accounts linking to one email address.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.