Take the 2-minute tour ×
Webmasters Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for pro webmasters. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I started verifying the server by putting a couple of static HTMLs in place. Then I noticed that Google wants you to keep these files in place. I didn't want to keep the static HTMLs in, so I want to switch to an alternative verification mechanism, and include the meta tags on the home page.

Unfortunately, once your site is verified, you never seem to be able to change to an alternative way of verification. I tried removing the HTML pages. No luck whatsoever. Google still considers the site to be 'verified'.

Does anybody know how to undo this? All I want to do is switch to the meta tag based method of site ownership verification.

share|improve this question

migrated from serverfault.com Jan 2 '12 at 14:46

This question came from our site for system and network administrators.

    
Not sure you can re-verify. Just go to your sites page, under the "Manage Site" drop-down, select "Delete Site". You should be able to re-add the site using the alternate verification. –  jscott Jan 2 '12 at 14:27
    
I tried this: support.google.com/webmasters/bin/…, but the 'Verified' link they are talking about isn't there. –  Wilfred Springer Jan 2 '12 at 14:27
    
By the way, deleting the site and adding it again isn't helping. It remembered that it verified the site in the past. :( –  Wilfred Springer Jan 2 '12 at 14:28
3  
Click on "Manage Site" -> "Add Remove Owners" -> "Unverify" on the far right of your username. Just tested this with one of my domains. After this, I was able to re-add my site and offered to verify again. –  jscott Jan 2 '12 at 14:40
    
If you use WordPress CMS then you can use the plugin name "Google verification". –  Limon Pervez Oct 26 at 19:08

1 Answer 1

Just to make sure I can close this question, jscott was right:

Click on "Manage Site" -> "Add Remove Owners" -> "Unverify" on the far right of your username. Just tested this with one of my domains. After this, I was able to re-add my site and offered to verify again.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.